My Country Deep Tour experience with David Nail and Sam Hunt

Last week I had the opportunity to attend the David Nail concert in association with the AT&T Country Deep Tour. I expected an amazing show complete with songs I could sing to the person next to me (singing with strangers happens to be my favorite part of shows). What I didn’t expect was how much of an experience AT&T Country Deep provided prior to and during the concert.

Country Deep Tour bus parked at The Varsity in Baton Rouge.

Country Deep Tour bus parked at The Varsity in Baton Rouge.

Before the doors opened, I had the chance to ask Sam Hunt some questions in the Country Deep Tour bus. We talked about his inspiration, his good luck charm, what he thinks about Baton Rouge and more. His energy was infectious, and I knew that he would bring everything he had to the stage in a few short hours. He reminded me of my best guy friend — funny, laid back and ready to have a good time. Click here to read the interview.

We walked into The Varsity and were immediately greeted by representatives from the Tour. We made “credential” badges before we even stepped into the venue, which made us feel even more like VIPs. Everyone loves a good selfie, after all.

We then made our way to the Meet and Greet with David Nail. The crowd was starting to grow, and we were excited to meet the show headliner.

Meet and Greet with David.

Meet and Greet with David.

The venue was now packed as the lights dimmed. Sam Hunt took the stage and sang his single, “Raised On It,” to Baton Rouge while the crowd sang the lyrics back to him. It’s been a long time since I’ve been blown away by the energy of band members. They were having an amazing time on stage, and it was obvious to everyone in the room.

From originals to covers, Sam Hunt sings a song for everyone. He explained during our interview that the band is influenced by each and every genre, which was evident as songs transformed from blues to country to R&B to rock. I wish I had a better way to describe how incredibly talented this group is, but I don’t think I’ll do justice through written word. You just have to see them live.

If you’re looking for a new artist, take some time to learn more about Sam here. His energy will pull you in, and his talent will keep you wanting more.

It was now time for David to take the stage. He sang the new, the old and the in between. It’s obvious that he wants the crowd to feel a connection to what he is playing and singing about. He pours his heart out with each song in his set, from stories of heartbreak to finding new love.

If I had to pick a favorite moment during his set, I have to admit that his acoustic intro to “Whatever She’s Got” gave me chills. This was the first time I saw David in concert, and it was a show I’ll never forget.

David Nail

David Nail

Even though I’m in the midst of my last set of finals as an LSU undergraduate, a night out to hear incredible musicianship acted as a well-deserved study break. The Country Deep Tour is a true fan experience, and I’m so grateful I was able to partner with AT&T U-Verse Country Deep campaign for this exclusive opportunity. Check out the site for the tour schedule, updates from David and Sam, and to read more about my experience in Baton Rouge.

The post was made in association with AT&T U-verse and the Country Deep Tour.

Leave a Reply

