Country Deep in the Red Stick

Country music has always reminded me of home. Tailgates are the norm, and driving 30 minutes down a back road to get to the perfect rope swing spot is never an inconvenience. David Nail and Sam Hunt sing about the simple things that make me feel as if I’m home, no matter where I am in the world.

Image courtesy of AT&T Country Deep and David Nail

Image courtesy of AT&T Country Deep and David Nail

For me, there’s no better feeling than losing myself in the lyrics sung at a live show. Swaying back and forth with a local brew and singing along with an artist brings me to my happy place. Pictures and videos just can’t do the feeling justice, but I’m going to do my best to provide an experience for you as a reader. I might even persuade you to join me next Wednesday.

AT&T U-verse, a service that brings country music to its viewers’ screens daily through the Country Deep App, announced in February that they’re presenting the Country Deep Tour. One spot on the tour is my current home — Baton Rouge, also known as the Red Stick.

A favorite local venue of mine to see a show, The Varsity, will host the tour on Wednesday, April 30 at 8 p.m. The show will headline rising star David Nail and features Sam Hunt as its opener.

I have no shame in admitting I tear up every time I hear “Red Light” by David Nail; I can’t imagine how incredible he will sound on stage. Sam Hunt reminds me of the guys I grew up with who just loved to live every day like it would never end. There was always something to do, no matter how boring the summer days seemed.

In association with AT&T U-verse and the Country Deep Tour, I’m giving away two tickets to the concert. (Yes, you read that correctly.) As part of the association, I get to attend the concert and get exclusive access to David and his team, so I can share my experience with you. Maybe I won’t cry during the show when he sings the song that gets me every time; I need to keep my cool in case I have an opportunity to interview the man himself.

If you are interested in joining me next Wednesday, I encourage you to you mention me in a tweet (@ErinMKenna) using the #ATTCountryDeepTour hashtag to be entered into the ticket giveaway. Another option is to retweet anything I post about the concert. Seriously, it’s that simple. A winner will be chosen next Monday, April 28.

 

This post was made possible through my association with AT&T Country Deep. The prize was provided by AT&T, but AT&T is not a sponsor, administrator, or involved in any other way with this giveaway. All opinions expressed in this post are my own and not those of AT&T.

Leave a Reply

