Niches and pitches

Do you ever second-guess yourself? Does it ever become so overwhelming you have to perform positive affirmations to ensure you don’t drive yourself insane?

I do. I’ll admit it in a heartbeat. The beauty of being human is that we can learn and we can evolve. I’ve made mistakes that I’ll never forget as well as mistakes I can’t seem to remember — thank goodness. Mistakes have allowed me to learn and move on. I’m grateful for the mistakes I’ve made and the consequences that have followed.

What does this have to do with PR? Well. I could make a number of mistakes on a daily basis as a practitioner. I could easily pick the wrong niche or pitch the wrong pitch. I read a phenomenal article today about finding your niche in PR. The questions seem simple enough:

  • “When you’re not at work, what are you doing?” (Usually cooking or working out)
  • “When you’re reading articles or nonfiction books, what are they about?” (History, biographies of people I admire, best practices for my field, inspirational women, and Mississippi)
  • “What is your favorite way to spend your free time?” (With family, with my boyfriend, and with my friends; I also love being outside)
  • “If you could be anything in the world, what would you be?” (A good role model)

Which industries would I fit in best with? I’m not entirely sure. I’m hopeful that someone will be looking for a (enter commonly used adjectives here including but not limited to: motivated, unique, determined) team player with interests in American history, strong females, healthy lifestyles, the South and the field of mass communication.

Then the article continues to ask more PR-specified and skill-related questions. Those answers are really just for me to consider right now. I will say that I would much rather be proactive in my responses to crises versus reactive. Not all crises will be eliminated, but I’m going to be diligent in my attempts to alleviate probable issues.

Will I choose the wrong niche? Most likely. Will I pitch something that will rub someone the wrong way at some point? I’m sure. One lesson I’ve learned the hard way is that pleasing everyone will never be a reality. I’m willing to learn from my mistakes, pick myself up through affirmations, move on to the next project and leave my mark though.

Leave a Reply

