Comparison is the thief of joy

This one is all about self-reflection. If that bores you to tears, I suggest you stop reading.

This semester has been a challenging one. I’ve second-guessed my abilities as a student, as an employee, as a friend, as a girlfriend and more. In the midst of it all I have noticed an unfortunate trend which leads to my unhappiness. I say unhappiness, but that word is really just an umbrella term for any emotion that sucks the joy out of my day. (Such as jealousy, cruelty, wishful thinking, pessimism, the usual.)

Why do we compare ourselves to others? The quote by Dr. Seuss “Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You” should ring in my head each time I start becoming my worst critic. Sure, my field is competitive. Sure, my college is competitive. That’s no excuse to disregard my individual strengths. Ever.

I find that we tend, as humans, to compare subconsciously. Sometimes that brings out the good in people. Sometimes that brings out the downright petty and cruel. I’ve challenged myself to overcome the negative mentality of beating someone down in my head until we’re somewhat “equal.” Instead, I’ll make a jar.

I must admit that Pinterest inspired this little nugget. This jar…I’ll call it an Affirmation Jar for Me…is empty starting Jan. 1, 2014. From there, I add pieces of paper to it that are filled with funny moments or inside jokes, accolades from the year, goals I’ve reached, and quotes I love. There’s also room for guest contributions! (Duh.)

Affirm

Kind of what I envision my jar looking like.

Will you join me on this positive and self-fulfilling journey? It may seem trivial right now, but I’m sure by the time Jan. 1, 2015, rolls around and I open it to read the tokens of happiness, I’ll visualize nothing but the fantastic parts of 2014. And that sounds pretty damn good.

Leave a Reply

