Modern food is scary

Netflix is my best friend on nights like tonight.

I’m kind of a documentary fiend. I love knowing that hard work, adamant research and low budgets (for the most part) combine to help me gain a better perspective on a subject. Tonight the subject is food. Particularly modern-day food, or what we would consider “fast food.”

Coming up are just some fun facts and figures to make you crave some french fries:

  • 80% of all modern-day foods contain one or more forms of MSG (food enhancers)
  • The average American eats about 22 teaspoons of sugar each day
  • The combination of aspartame and caffeine kills brain cells (grab another Diet Coke!)
  • One third of all women and men in America are on a diet
  • More than $60 billion is spent on weight loss and diet products in the US each year

social-media-using-guys-are-lovin-the-fast-food-infographic--0be9d568d7

Alright let’s break this down. We spend money on our attempts to look like this, but we expect to be able to eat like this. That just doesn’t work. The word “diet” has a negative connotation. Diet is simply what your body ingests each day; that is your diet. The word has become synonymous with “deprivation” or “starving” or “crashing.” I am not on a diet. I am in the midst of a complete lifestyle change thanks to Paleo.

Let’s talk about fast food while we’re on the subject. I know how good a hamburger can taste when you’re emaciated. I get it. It’s greasy, it’s quick and it fills you up…right? How long does it take for you to want the next hamburger though? A day…6 hours…one hour? It’s scary when you begin thinking about fast food as an addiction versus a means of legitimate sustenance. These foods provide little to no nutrients for your body, which is what it’s actually craving. For instance, that Big Mac provides you with 970 milligrams of sodium and a whopping 2% of your recommended daily value of Vitamin C.

We love food. We are made to love food. Our ancestors craved foods with high fat and sugar contents (from natural sources) for survival. We still have that instinct, but the modern food marketed to us isn’t something our ancestors could find crouching behind a shrub. A majority of the food Americans turn to has been scientifically altered or enhanced to taste better, cost less and make us feel “happier” after we eat it. That happiness quickly subsides and then it’s on to the next cheeseburger.

There is no easy way to say this. I hate fast food. It makes me feel like shit. It gives me a worse hangover than any cheap wine could. If you’re looking for a way to increase your energy level without relying upon more Diet Coke, you should probably start small and give up the fast food and aspartame. Why are 1/3 of all women and men in America on a diet? Because we’re sad. We work, we stress, we don’t go outside, we complain about first world problems, and we eat our feelings away. It’s a vicious cycle and it’s all controlled by billionaires who are making suckers out of us.

Make the change so you can achieve sincere longevity. Make the change so you can live a healthy life, which will lead to happiness.

4 thoughts on “Modern food is scary

  1. I love that you’re encouraging people to make healthy food choices and become more educated about what’s in their food. As a nutrition major, the msg link concerns me. I’m like you and I love watching documentaries about food. I’ve learned through my nutrition classes though that it’s important to make sure I get my info about food from dieticians and be cautious with info from nutritionists. Anyone can call themselves a nutritionist, but dietitians have to go through college training to earn their title. It may not seem like a big deal, but getting bad nutrition advice can have serious health consequences.

    • Hey Jennifer!

      Thanks for your feedback. I agree that more individual research is necessary to finding out the facts. Thank you for your tip; I’ll use it from now on when finding sources and legitimate nutrition-related materials. I think therein lies another problem: unless you’re incredibly educated or used to picking the facts from the exaggerated, it’s tough to find out the truth. I hope everything is going well, and I’m so excited that you’re enjoying your field of study. If you have any advice or links you would like to share, please send them my way!

    • Thank you for your response! There’s more than meets the eye when grocery shopping. I try to buy as many “whole” and untainted foods as I can. On a college student budget, it gets tricky but I’m trying!

Leave a Reply

