Personal Motivation

 

Screen Shot 2013-08-07 at 9.00.50 PM

Who knows? Maybe only 5 people voted. Thanks for voting anyway!

The results of the poll I posted earlier show that most people feel as though they have a lack of motivation, a lack of time or a lack of energy to take the next step toward a healthy lifestyle. Honestly I expected this. These options are the “me” options. They have to do with what we think of ourselves as individuals versus taking a look at external variables.

This begs the questions: how do we motivate ourselves, give ourselves enough time to devote to our health, and become energized about the idea of working out daily and preparing meals? The answer isn’t clear-cut. I can only speak from my personal experience.

I became motivated to pursue a lifestyle change instead of participating in a crash diet when I noticed I was losing my breath walking across campus or up a flight of stairs. Pictures didn’t help either. I knew that now was the time to change my habits (while I was in college and, by definition I-N-D-E-P-E-N-D-E-N-T. I had the ability to try new things without asking for permission. Motivation for me came from something that scared the hell out of me while simultaneously lit a fire under me.

As far as time goes, this is a pretty simple answer. MAKE TIME. Don’t put off until tomorrow what you can do today. Sacrifice an hour watching Netflix to prep your meals or figure out what you want to eat for the rest of the week. MAKE TIME to get up a bit earlier and go for a 30 minute jog or walk. MAKE TIME to go to a Zumba or Spin class twice a week. Pencil it in your planner, set a reminder on your phone, etc. Just do it with no excuses. If you don’t start today, will you next Monday? How about next month? How about right before the holidays then slip a little then not have any time at all? Just do it…with no excuses. A little bit a day goes a long way.

Energy. This is a tough one because every body is different. I have more energy for the gym in the morning before class or work, and that metabolism boost lasts throughout the day for me. However, you may be completely different and the afternoon or even late night is what suits you. I can promise you this though—as soon as you start exerting more energy each day through exercise, you will in turn gain more energy to use for the rest of the day. It’s a simple but beautiful concept.

 

One thought on “Personal Motivation

Leave a Reply

