Cellulite

You’re probably thinking…where is this going? (Which is a totally appropriate response.)

I don’t know why today was the day in particular that all of my news feeds were bombarded with images of bikini-clad movie stars or articles focusing specifically on the C word, but Monday is a good a day as any to discuss something most women come to loathe by age 12.

I think I’ve had cellulite since I was 10. It really wasn’t a big deal; the genetic history of the women in my family pretty much predicted that it would happen. Of course by age 16, I was mortified to wear a bathing suit or shorts that might actually show something that was (and still is) considered an imperfection.

Now I embrace the fact that I am a little…let me think of common euphamisms…juicier(?)…thicker(?)…bootylicious…yes…than the average Jane. I love my curves, and since I have been learning to love my body through self-motivation and a desire to be fit, I know I look good in clothes. And guess what everyone? I still have cellulite.

I suppose the most important takeaway from this article is that cellulite will never go away. You can’t work it off, no matter how many lunges or squats you do. It’s biological, and you can’t replace your epidermis…unless you’re contemplating a scene from Silence of the Lambs.

Also, it’s been leaked that this man is the one in charge of pointing out the imperfections of movie stars and actresses. So since body shaming apparently permeates society, then we should all be ashamed of what is genetically and biologically normal right? Hell no. We should embrace the fact that we look natural. And honestly ladies, if a man has a serious problem with the fact that you don’t have creamy, photoshopped thighs…he’s probably not worth it.

Leave a Reply

