Being a human being can be challenging.

I am well aware that I am going to be the first person to have something negative to say about myself in my very own head. As Hannah from Girls states, “No one could ever hate me as much as I hate myself, okay? So any mean thing someone’s gonna think of to say about me, I’ve already said to me, about me, probably in the last half hour!”

m225662226

We do this to ourselves, ladies and gentlemen. We refuse to believe that people compliment us genuinely because they want us to know how much they love our hair, our sense of humor, our room decor…whatever. Compliments are hard to come by. Therefore, I have to take Amy’s advice in her most recent Smart Girls video concerning negativity when she advises us to just say “Thank you” when someone gives us a compliment.

Example: I think it’s a pretty valid estimation when I say that a roundabout 85% of people are intimidated by gyms/fitness clubs. We second guess our abilities when someone brushes past us that has a better body or–even worse–a smile on his/her face AT THE GYM.

I’ve taken it upon myself to start being more healthy simply because I am getting older. I suppose that along with the fun being a 21 year old provides, I really need to start thinking about how good I want to feel when I’m 31. I have taken a pledge to no longer criticize myself if I am unable to do something on the first try. It’s all good; I’ll make it work one day.

So my advice coincides with Amy in that sense. Enjoy yourself a little more every day. Laugh at silly things and don’t be so hard on yourself. Surround yourself with people who uplift you. Keep that head up. You’ll master your current goal one day; it might not be today, next week or next year.

I am my worst critic

Leave a Reply

