The Difference Between a Feminist and a…

Bones to pick. Bones to pick everywhere. 

I love being a woman. As much as I hate the following tasks at times, I take pride in my appearance. Shaving my legs can be annoying and painful; painting my nails can be messy and mundane; curling my eyelashes can turn into a horrible experience (side note: I don’t recommend doing so while driving).

Not all women shave their legs, do their nails OR curl their eyelashes. No worries. Make yourself happy. My beauty rant isn’t about beauty at all though. I am a feminist, and I’m proud to say I am. Usually when I say this out loud, I get one of two responses:

Response A: “That’s really cool. What makes you a feminist?”

(Actual interest and curiosity pervades with these words.)

Response B: “Oh wow. Are you really? I would have never guessed that about you.” 

(Usually this isn’t a positive response; sometimes I can hear a sense of mockery through these words.)

In its basic definitive form, a feminist believes that genders are equal. I believe that a woman and a man should be allowed to do anything his/her heart desires. There should be no boundaries–even if something seems “physically impossible.” If it is one’s free will to accomplish a goal that seems otherwise impossible, you go for it. You have my support in most cases.

I am not a man-hating, pessimistic and crass woman. There are so many negative connotations connected to the word “feminist.” It’s not fair, in my opinion. (Side note: I love men.) Like anything, I believe that to form an opinion, one should research and derive an opinion based on facts and convictions, which is what I have done throughout the last 5 months of my life.

If a woman wants to pursue a profession, that should be acceptable and supported just as if a man was pursuing the same profession. She should be able to be a caregiver for her husband and children if her heart desires; she should be able to prove her dedication to a company if she desires to become the CEO of a Fortune 500. There should be no limitations.

I’m not a bitch. I have my off days (not due to my menstrual cycle, by the way) and I deal with them just like anyone else does while juggling life. There are pressures everywhere we turn; why should I feel more simply because I describe myself as being a feminist?

Leave a Reply

