What grinds my gears

I’m a fan of music. Especially music that inspires me and makes me want to do something with myself (whether it’s dancing, writing, running, laughing, etc.) I can’t imagine not being able to get recommendations from my friends/comrades or give advice to people about new artists. 

What grinds my gears, though, is the music snob. A music snob, in my own words, is someone who assumes that their taste in music will trump yours regardless of what you enjoy most. I worked with a guy who boasted about his incredible taste in music. I agreed with him about several of his favorite artists and attempted to contribute to the conversation, but he would shoot my choices down each time. 

My friend Madison put it perfectly. “That’s the great thing about music. It’s not for everybody, which is why there are so many different genres.” I know thousands of songs and know of hundreds of artists, but I will never be able to listen to every song and artist that has ever been in existence. There just isn’t enough time. Nor do I have the patience. 

I have made my peace with this person, and I will never condescend him for his music preferences. Love your music and let others love their music. 

Leave a Reply

