Who says you’re inadequate?

I’ve been thinking a lot lately.

29563453

I suppose I’m allowed this luxury now that finals are behind me. I live in a society bombarded by consumerism. Who’s/What’s Hot and Who’s/What’s Not. Why do we rely upon so many randos to tell us if we look good, act appropriately, smell good, etc. I’m so tired of constantly worrying about what others assume the first time we meet. There is no right or wrong human being. What I believe to be appropriate may not be completely appropriate for my grandmother, and that’s how the world is supposed to be.

You see, in my opinion, the world is better off because of the amount of diversity present. No one would travel if each continent was uniform. There’s no fun in observing a different culture if it’s just like the one you have known your entire life. The status quo and societal norms constrain us in so many ways.

I’m a fan of the show Taboo. I think it’s pretty cool that NatGeo took the opportunity to highlight people and customs that might be considered bizarre by most. Then again, the word taboo makes me mad. Why is it that we don’t openly talk about things that are “taboo.” Sure, some play devil’s advocate too often but serious discussions about silenced subjects are necessary to move forward.

We should take the opportunity to look for the good in each person we meet. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, someone once wrote or said or something. I completely agree. What I find beautiful may not be the same for you, and that’s how humanity works. We are all connected as Homo sapiens, but we are not all cut from the same thread. Personalities, senses of humor and ideals vary. And I dig that.

Leave a Reply

